When you no longer need a Microsoft SharePoint site – such as a site created for a specific project – it should be deleted to ensure only relevant content can be found.
You must be a site owner or SharePoint administrator to delete sites. If you are a site owner but you are unable to delete a site, your administrator may have turned off the ability to do so.
When you delete a team or communication site, you also delete any subsites, content, and user information that are part of the site, including documents, document libraries, lists, and list data.
Confirmation for communication sites
Confirmation for team sites
If you’re experienced with SharePoint, here’s how to delete a site or subsite in any version.
If you accidentally delete a site in SharePoint, it can usually be restored from the site collection recycle bin by a site collection administrator. See Restore deleted items from the site collection recycle bin.
SharePoint site owners and administrators can delete modern pages from a SharePoint site. See Delete a page from a SharePoint site.
If you’re a site owner, you can give other people access to the site by adding them as owners, members, or visitors. See Share a site.